Prohibition of Making Nabidh from Two Different Types of Produce

اردو میں پڑھیں
Font size:
Author: Imran Ayub Lahori

❖ Prohibition in the Sunnah

It is not permissible to make nabidh (a drink from soaked dates, raisins, etc.) using two different types of produce together.

Evidence from Hadith

① Hadhrat Jabir رضي الله عنه narrated:

“The Messenger of Allah ﷺ forbade making nabidh from dates and raisins together, and also forbade making nabidh from fresh dates and dry dates together.”
[Bukhari: 5172, Kitab al-Ashribah: Bab Man Ra’a an la Yukhalit al-Busr wal-Tamr; Muslim: 1986; Abu Dawood: 3703; Nasa’i: 8/290; Ibn Majah: 3395; Ahmad: 294/3; Tirmidhi: 1876]

② The same meaning is also narrated from Hadhrat Abu Qatadah, Hadhrat Abu Sa‘id al-Khudri, Hadhrat Abu Hurairah, and Hadhrat Ibn ‘Abbas رضي الله عنهم.
[Bukhari: 5602; Muslim: 1987; Ahmad: 445/2; Nasa’i: 8/289; Tirmidhi: 1877]

Reason for Prohibition

  • Imam al-Nawawi رحمه الله explained:

    “The reason for prohibiting making nabidh from two different types of produce is that it ferments and becomes intoxicating more quickly.”
    [Sharh Muslim: 7/173]

Scholarly Difference of Opinion

  • Jumhoor (Majority): The prohibition is not for tahrim (absolute prohibition), but for karahah (dislike).
  • Imam al-Khattabi, Imam al-Shafi‘i, Imam Ahmad, Imam Ishaq, Imam al-Qurtubi: The prohibition is for tahrim (it is haram).
  • Imam Abu Hanifah, Imam Abu Yusuf: When each item is halal individually, combining them does not make it haram.
    [Ta‘liq ‘ala al-Rawdah al-Nadiyyah by Shaykh Muhammad Subayhi Hasan Hallaq: 2/439; Nayl al-Awtar: 5/269; Ma‘alim al-Sunan: 4/269]

Conclusion (Rajih View)

The apparent wording of the hadith indicates prohibition (tahrim) of making nabidh from two different types of produce.
[Further detail: Fath al-Bari: 11/197; Nayl al-Awtar: 5/269]